Exploding Custard Is Not The End Of The World

ice creamI got my first real job this week. I work for a little shop that sells frozen custard. I was pretty nervous and completely self-conscious. I was just sure that I would monumentally mess up something. I hate failing, especially in front of people I don’t know very well.

I went in for my second shift today. I showed up a half an hour early, so I decided to buy myself a blizzard. Since it was my own, and I needed the practice, the Shift Manager had me make it.

Now, making a blizzard is pretty straightforward. It pretty much requires ingredients, a blender and opposable thumbs. You put a protective cone in the top of the cup to prevent the ingredients from falling out before they are blended in. Then, you plop a couple scoops of custard into the cup, put in the selected toppings (mine had hot fudge, brownie bites, and peanuts), and take it to the mixer. Holding the cone on top firmly with your handy opposable thumbs, you move the cup in circles up and down to thoroughly mix everything into a frozen blob of yummy goodness.

So, I had everything I needed. I confidently faced the mixer. They can smell fear, ya know. My shift manager was watching me, so I firmly pressed down on the foot pedal and the mixer roared to life. Something was terribly wrong!  THUMBS! THUMBS! But it was too late. Custard and brownie bits were flying out of the cup, spraying all over the machine and running down my hands. In my panic, I ran the pedal even harder instead of releasing it, causing the speeding glop to spin even wilder. Finally taking my foot off the petal, I pulled my failure out of the machine. For all of that, I hadn’t even mixed it all the way!

Handing me a spoon and a load of napkins, the manager told me to go eat my custard while he cleaned up the mess. He assured me that there was nothing to worry about, but the voice in my head started freaking out. What do I do now? They don’t want an employee who can’t make a decent blizzard without turning the equipment into a custard flinging death machine. Am I going to be fired after only my second shift?

But everything really was alright. It was only my second attempt at making blizzard, and no one can be expected to be perfect all the time. Once my goopy (but quite tasty) blizzard was disposed of, I set to work. By the end of the day, I managed to make three blizzards perfectly, now that I knew the perils of not using my thumbs.

Don’t ever be too hard on yourself. Everyone makes mistakes. If you mess something up, just laugh it away, and learn from it. My failed blizzard is funny to me now, and I’m pretty sure I won’t forget to hold the cone again. You are smarter than you think you are, and with a bit of practice, you can overcome all the exploding custards in your life.

~ Bailey

Leave a Reply

