Love Story by Juliet – a Taylor Swift parody

Every time I hear “Love Story” by Taylor Swift, I laugh, because I’ve read the play, and that’s not how the story goes. So I wrote my own parody version, as narrated by Juliet.

I tried to match the lyrics to the timing of the song, but some of it sounded better in my head.

 

Love Story by Juliet

We were both young when I first saw you.
I raise my eyes; see a beautiful stranger
Standing there in the fading light and summer air.

See the lights, see the party, the ball gowns.
See you make your way through the crowd
And say, “Hello, ”
Little did I know…

That you were Romeo, son of our sworn enemy.
You were a Montague; I was a Capulet!
And I was crying on the balcony
“Why are you Romeo?”
And I said…

“That which we call a rose by any other word
would smell as sweet. So Romeo would.
Deny your name for me.” And he said “Just call me your love.
I’ll take a new name for you. I’ll ne’r be Romeo again.”

We make our plans in the garden together.
I urge, “Keep quiet. You’d be dead if they knew.
My love, good night. I’ll send word tomorrow at nine.”
Oh, oh.

‘Cause you were Romeo, son of our sworn enemy.
You were a Montague; I was a Capulet!
But you kissed me perfectly,
And I knew I couldn’t let you go.
And I said…

“Romeo, my true love is grown to such excess,
I cannot count half the sum of my wealth.”
We join hands, and prepare to take our wedding vows.
These sudden joys have sudden ends, but it’s enough to call him mine.

Oh, please help me! Our love’s becoming such a mess.
My cousin is dead – slain in a petty fight.
My parents scream insults because I won’t marry another man.
I don’t know what to do! This mess is beyond hope and help!

Oh, oh.

The Friar hands me a vial.
He says that it will make my troubles all go away.
He’ll send word to my Romeo,
And he will come to rescue me from all of this pain.
And I drank…

“Romeo, Romeo! Where is my Romeo?
My husband lies dead! A poisoned cup lies in his hand.
Did you save none for me, to help me follow after you?
I’ll kiss your lips, and take this knife. We’ll be together in death.”

Romeo and Juliet – ne’r was a story of more woe.
A pair death-marked in love and children of these fatal foes
In the end, they managed to bury their parent’s strife.
But our star-crossed lovers were forced to take their own life.

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh.

‘Cause we were both young when I first saw you…

~Bailey

2 responses to “Love Story by Juliet – a Taylor Swift parody

  1. I actually like Taylor Swift’s original song, despite not usually liking Taylor Swift, but I never thought it had anything to do with the play. This parody was hilarious. XD

Leave a Reply

